kindred spirits rainbow rowell

Book Review: Kindred Spirits (or, What fandom are you a part of?)

fan·dom /ˈfandəm/: noun – the state or condition of being a fan of someone or something. The fans of a particular person, team, fictional series, etc., regarded collectively as a community or subculture.

I recently read Rainbow Rowell’s Kindred Spirits (given to me by the lovely Carlisa over at Confessions of Carlisa) and thought it was such a cute novella. It’s a 60-page short story about a trio of Stars Wars junkies waiting in line for the latest movie. The thing is, you could replace “Star Wars” with any fandom and you’d have the same exact story. There’s just something about meeting someone who loves something as much as you do, and that’s what Kindred Spirits is all about.

Book Review: Kindred Spirits (or, What fandom are you a part of?)Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell
Published by Macmillan Children’s Books on February 25th 2016
Pages: 96
Format: Paperback
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’‘Maybe.’
If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does.
What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.
Kindred Spirits is an engaging short story by Rainbow Rowell, author of the bestselling Eleanor & Park, Fangirl and Carry On. Kindred Spirits has been specially produced for World Book Day.

You don’t have to be a Star Wars fan to relate to this story, because anyone who belongs to any fandom will know that feeling of finding a kindred spirit as soon as you find out that they, too, love what you love. The story is short, simple, and sweet. I certainly enjoyed this little book and would recommend it to any Star Wars junkie or Rainbow Rowell fan.

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 3.25.14 PM
Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 3.46.55 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-14 at 3.46.55 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-14 at 3.46.55 PM
Why not more stars? Because it’s a stinking short story! How mind-blowing can a short story be? (Okay, I know that there are probably a bunch of you getting ready to furiously comment some short stories that are amazing. I get that they exist, don’t worry.)

Okay, but now let’s talk fandoms. While I can go fangirl-crazy about a lot of things (especially books: Red Rising, The Bone Season, Twilight [yeah, I said it. I’m not ashamed!]), there are two fandoms that I particularly associate:

I’m a proud Potterhead. 

harry potter fandom

And I’m a Disney freak. 

disney fandom

Screen Shot 2016-07-14 at 3.25.00 PM
What fandoms are you proud to be a part of? What is that one thing you could talk about with anyone

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Facebook' Bloglovin'' Pinterest''

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

11 comments

  1. Great post! I’ve never actually heard of this Rainbow Rowell book, can’t believe it! I’m currently reading Fangirl and I’ve read a couple of others by her but this one sounds good to try too xx

    1. I think it was a special release for World Book Day, so it wasn’t “officially” published or something like that. It’s super cute and I hope you are able to find it and get to it one day!

  2. Disneyyy! Who isn’t a fan of Disney, right? But I understand you when you say that you’re a Disney Freak. When I went to Disneyland, I saw a lot of people buying tons of stuffed animals and other souvenirs, and I realized how much this means to them! I do find them cute, but I wouldn’t spend all my money on it. However, I have double copies of all Percy Jackson books and I think that this is the same as buying tons of Minions that look pretty much the same, hahah.
    Aside from PJO and KPOP, I don’t think I’m part of any other fandom.
    And I really look forward to reading Kindered Spirits, it looks amazing!

  3. I really enjoyed this book as well, and I loved how relatable it felt! I love Disney and Harry Potter as well, but I don’t know if I should be called a Potterhead since I’m not nearly as crazy about it as some other people are, though I enjoy it, A LOT. Where is the limit, I wonder, haha. 🙂

    1. Yay!! I’ve never read Twilight fanfiction, but I bet I’d be OBSESSED! Do you have a favorite you could link to??

        1. Well this link is just fantastic! I will peruse it – I have no problem buying something if it’s good!! Thank you for sharing this!

  4. I really need to bite the bullet and read this. It’s sitting on my Kindle and it’s so short I should just sit and read it ASAP.

    My fandoms are: Harry Potter, Supernatural (this is new to me) and Buffy!