a closed and common orbit review becky chambers

A Closed and Common Orbit: Yes, Yes, and more Yes!

Becky Chambers is officially an auto-buy author for me. Last year I read The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, and was blown away by how much I loved it (click here to see my review)! I was so excited when I learned about A Closed and Common Orbit, a stand-alone sequel, but I was also a little hesitant. I wouldn’t get to be with the characters I loved anymore? Would I like it as much? Would it have the same feel? Well the answer was YES YES AND MORE FREAKING YES.

A Closed and Common Orbit: Yes, Yes, and more Yes!A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers
Series: Wayfarers #2
Published by Hodder & Stoughton on October 20th 2016
Genres: Science Fiction
Narrator: Rachel Dulude
Length: 11 hours and 30 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Buy on Amazon, Buy on Barnes & Noble, Buy from The Book Depository
Goodreads

Lovelace was once merely a ship's artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who's determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for - and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers' beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars.


artificial intelligence with soul, journeys of self-discovery, and a space world overflowing with detail

Being back in the Becky Chamber’s world was everything I hoped it would be.

Excuse the dorky phrase, but when I started this book I literally felt like I was coming home. I was immediately content. It was so warm and cozy, like sitting down to a nice glass of tea (or should I say mek?). I was back in this strange universe I loved so much and surrounded by all the fascinating quirks and details that got me hooked in the first one.

This story follows two peripheral characters from the first book, so you don’t have to read the first to enjoy this one. There would only be a few references you’d miss. That being said, I’d HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you read the first one, because it’s so much fun.

A Closed and Common Orbit has so much heart and soul.  

She manages to tell a lovely story about humanity under the guise of aliens, interplanetary relations, and artificial intelligence. It’s perfectly done!

I could go on and on about why I love this book, but I’ll just leave you with this:
If you read Becky Chamber’s novels, here’s what you’re going to get: multi-dimensional, fantastic characters you fall quickly in love with in a richly-developed galactic world that will fascinate you more with each turn of the page.

The only disclaimer I have for this novel is the same as I did for the first: This isn’t some action-packed space opera! I described her first as Friends meets Star Trek, and that still holds true for this one. It’s about the characters and the lives they’re living in space world, so don’t read this expecting a bunch of epic battles or space lasers!



Another one to add to my list of favorites!

the wayfarers becky chambers review

You can see my review of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet here!


What was the last book you read that took you completely by surprise?

 

Twitter Instagram Goodreads Facebook' Bloglovin'' Pinterest''

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

3 comments

  1. Friends meet Star Trek is spot on! And yes yes yes for Becky. I LOOOVED the first one. Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed by the second one, mostly cause most of the species weren’t in it, and I don’t think I liked Sidra all that much (plus, I dreadfully miss the Wayfarer crew!) But it was a good book nonetheless.
    By the way, this is Evelina visiting from my Twitter blog hop last week, if you still remember me 🙂
    Evelina just posted Discussion: Crave Book + Buy Book = Put It Away?My Profile

    1. A lot of people had said they didn’t like this one as much. I knew that going into the book, so I wonder if I just had low expectations that pleasantly surprised me? I really liked the back story of Pepper and the AI. Like REALLY liked it, so I think that helped for me. I wasn’t super crazy of Sidra, but her storyline still interested me. I miss the Wayfarer crew, too!!